

North District - Awards

Life Members

Life Membership shall be awarded to each retiring President and to persons who have given outstanding service, over many years, to the SASA North District.

Mr L Turberville

Mr R A Robertson

Mr E Adam

Mr D Hawthorn

Mrs J Cochran

Mr J Angus

Mr A C Brunton

Mr R Wilson

Mr J Frew

Mr J Phillips

Mr S T Muir

Mr R Wilkie

Mr A Drummond

Mr T Tracey

Mrs M Dunbar

Miss M Wyness

Mrs D Mair

Mr D Downie

Mrs A Hendry

Mrs A Low

Mr B Hendry

Mr P Cartwright

Mrs J Young

Mrs L Alderton

Mr K Paterson

Mrs H Smith

Mr I Gibson



J Y Coutts Memorial Award

The J Y Coutts Memorial Award shall be awarded to the persons who have given outstanding service to the SASA North District

Jock Coutts was a member of Bon Accord ASC. He was secretary of the SASA for approximately 35 years and is credited with introducing age group swimming into competition. He was also the person who kept the SASA going over the war years when there were no young men available to take his place. This award was introduced the year that Don Hawthorn was SASA President and Leslie Turberville was the first recipient of the award at National level. Soon after this was done, a similar award was introduced in the North District.

Ed Adam (TO)	1991
Roy Wilson (BT)	1996
Herb Still (WD)	1998
Dennis Mackintosh (IS)	1999
Tom Tracey (IS)	2001
Jean Miller (WD)	2002
Alison Low (AN)	2005
Alan Thomson (FB)	2006
Doris Mair (WD)	2008
Kevin Paterson	2012
Lynn Alderton	2013
No Award	2014
No Award	2015

W G Todd Trophy

A Trophy and Shield or Plaque shall be awarded annually to the North District swimmer who is deemed to have shown outstanding achievement in National and International events.

No award	2000
Martyn Taylor (AD)	2001
David Carry (AN)	2002
Martin Leel (AN)	2003
David Carry (AD)	2004
David Carry (AD)	2005
David Carry (AD)	2006
Hannah Miley (GH)	2007
Hannah Miley (GH)	2008
Hannah Miley (GH)	2009
Hannah Miley (GH)	2010
Hannah Miley (GH)	2011
Hannah Miley (GH)	2012
Hannah Miley (GH)	2013
Hannah Miley (GH)	2014
Hannah Miley (GH)	2015



STO Award

When recommended by the National STO Committee a plaque will be presented at the Annual Seminar to those Officials, one from each District, who have made an outstanding contribution to the SASA as a Swimming Technical Official.

Jean Miller (WD)	2000
Tom Tracey (IS)	2001
Hilary Chalmers (TO)	2002
Jenny Young (GH)	2003
Doris Mair (WD)	2004
Jean Miller (WD)	2005
Ed Adam (TO)	2006
Eleanore Murison (WD)	2007
Brian Hendry (SN)	2008
Helen Guy (NN)	2009
Anne Hendry (SN)	2010
Sandra Middleton (DA)	2011
David McDonald (WD)	2012
Kathryn Cartwright	2013
Sandra French	2014
Jim Robertson	2015

John Gunning (Volunteer of the Year) Award

A Quaich will be awarded annually to the nominee from each District. Nominees must reside in Scotland and have contributed at any level from grass roots through to elite.

This award is presented annually at the Scottish Swimming Annual Awards Dinner.

Liz Cooper	1999
No award	2000
Doris Mair	2001
Margaret Fowler	2002
Roddy Geddes	2003
Jean Miller	2004
Norma Shand	2005
Ian Benzie	2006
Brian Hendry	2007
Eleanore Murison	2008
Jenny Young	2009
Wyn McFadyen	2011
NP this was 2010 a	الماء الماء

NB this was 2010 award delayed because of change of date of Awards dinner

Kevin Paterson2012No award2013Sandra Middleton2014Durno Jessiman2015



Solingen Plaque

To be presented annually for the best performance by an Age Group competitor in a National Age Group Championship.

In the 1970s a North District team went over to Germany to compete at Damstadt and made a visit to Solingen. At the end of the visit the team manager was presented with a beautiful plaque cast in steel. Unfortunately this plaque was lost and the present plaque is a replacement but the name has been retained.

No award	2000
Gemma Sutherland (AD)	2001
Christopher Chasser (WD)	2002
Ranald Falconer (AD)	2003
Robbie Renwick (CO)	2004
Kerry Buchan (UD)	2005
Sam George (BB)	2006
Hannah Miley (GH)	2007
Sara Hamilton (SN)	2008
Emily Jones (GH)	2009
James Yule (WD)	2010
Suleman Butt (AN)	2011
Suleman Butt (AN)	2012
Suleman Butt (AN)	2013
Eilidh Duthie (COAST)	2014
Tom Beeley (AN)	2015

Strachan Plaque

A Trophy and Shield or Plaque shall be awarded annually to a swimmer or official who is a member of a North District Club or an Independent member of the SASA residing in the District who has rendered outstanding services to aquatic sports.

No award	2000
No award	2001
Anne Hendry (SN)	2002
Hilary Chalmers (TO)	2003
Ed Adam (TO)	2004
Tom Tracey (IS)	2005
Brian Hendry (SN)	2006
Brian Bain (SCB)	2007
Jenny Young (GH)	2008
Ian Gibson (OY)	2009
Sandra Middleton (DA)	2010
Lynn Alderton (AO)	2011
Helen Smith (AN)	2012
Jennifer Ewen (BK)	2013
Kevin Paterson	2014



Mary Black Trophy

The trophy shall be awarded annually to the North District Synchronised swimmer who is deemed to have shown outstanding achievement in National and or International events.

Mary is a past President and life member of the SASA. She has been involved for a great many years in synchronised swimming. The Mary Black Rose Bowl is a National Award and the Trophy is the North District equivalent.

Pauline McFadyen (NS)	2001
Pauline McFadyen (NS)	2002
No award	2003
Pauline McFadyen (NS)	2004
No award	2005
Caryn Stubbs & Shona Mackintosh (NS)	2006
Yvette Main (NS)	2007
Caryn Stubbs (NS)	2009
Caryn Stubbs (NS)	2010
Katie Sheriffs (NS)	2012
Chloe Hunter (NS)	2013
Chloe Hunter (NS)	2014

Special Awards

An athlete, in any aquatic discipline, achieving their first Scottish National Record or their first selection for either Commonwealth or Olympic Games, will be awarded a memento of the occasion in the form of an inscribed quaich or small salver.

Kerry Buchan	December 2003
Ranald Falconer	August 2004
Hannah Miley	August 2004
David Carry	August 2004
Robbie Renwick	August 2004
Sara Hamilton	March 2009
Emily Jones	December 2011
Jason Ridgley	March 2012
Suleman Butt	July 2012
Jack Ness	December 2012
Caitlin Tootill	December 2012

For coaching a swimmer selected for an Olympic Games, Commonwealth Games or World Championship Team.

Eileen Adams	April 2006
Patrick Miley	April 2006
Gary Paterson	April 2006